The university is led by the rectorate. It consists of the rector, three vice-rectors and the chancellor. The rectorate implements the resolutions of the governing bodies and assumes all operational tasks. The rector heads the university, is the chairperson of the senate and represents the university externally. The Rector appoints the professors and hires the academic staff and lecturers. It proposes the deans and appoints the heads of the institutes.

The University Council, which oversees the management of the Rectorate, is responsible for all university policy and strategic decisions and adopts the budget. The body consists of four external and three internal members; the external members also provide the chairperson. The University Council elects the Rector and the Chancellor and confirms the election of the Prorectors by the Senate.

The Senate represents the members of the university. Its members include representatives of the professors, academic staff, students and administration. The Senate is responsible for all matters of teaching and research, has a right to be heard in appointment procedures, decides on the establishment of study programmes and institutes and exercises the university's statutory right. It confirms the election of the Rector and the Chancellor by the University Council and elects the Prorectors. The Senate is chaired by the Rector.

At the level of a faculty, the Faculty Council corresponds to the Senate. It is made up of representatives of the faculty's teaching staff and students. All matters of study and teaching of the faculty, the preparation of structural and development plans as well as the establishment of institutes require its approval. It must be heard in appointment procedures. The Faculty Council elects the Dean on the proposal of the Rector and the Vice-Dean and the Dean of Students on the proposal of the Dean.

A faculty is led by the Faculty Board. The Faculty Board consists of the Dean as the head of the Faculty, the Vice-Dean and the Dean of Students. The Faculty Board implements the decisions of the Faculty Council and performs operational tasks of the Faculty. It is responsible for the use of the budget funds allocated to the Faculty and for evaluation procedures. The Dean is the supervisor of the academic staff and lecturers; he/she ensures that the university lecturers working in the Faculty fulfil their teaching and examination obligations.

There is a study commission for each degree programme, which is chaired by the dean of studies of the relevant faculty. The Study Commission consists of representatives of the teachers and the students of the degree programme to be supervised; this representation can also be inter-faculty. The Study Commission draws up the study and examination regulations that the Senate adopts - after hearing them in the Faculty Council - and deals with practical questions of study and examinations.

The doctoral committee is responsible for all doctoral procedures; it also acts as an examination board at the conclusion of a procedure. In addition to the Rector, its members include the professors who are authorised to supervise a doctorate.